Rochester Churches Cayuga County
St. Mary of the Assumption


Location: Cayuga County, Auburn
Address: 17 Clark St. Map
Parish formed: August 15, 1868
Present church built: April 29, 1877 [dedicated]
Present affiliation: Parish, sharing pastor with Our Lady of the Snow and Ss. Mary and Martha
Web site:


  • Fr. Thomas A. Maher, 1868-1869
  • Fr. Myles J. Loughlin, 1869-1877
  • Fr. William E. Mulheron, 1877-1913
  • Fr. William F. Payne, 1913-1925
  • Fr. John J. McGrath, 1925-1932
  • Msgr. William E. Cowen, 1932-1958
  • Msgr. James D. Cuffney, June 24, 1958-Sep. 12, 1979 [upon retirement]
  • Fr. Edward A. Zimmer, Sep. 12, 1979-June 30, 1992
  • Fr. Robert J. Schraeder, June 30, 1992-2004
  • Fr. Frank Lioi, 2004-present


Coming soon...

Exterior Photographs
Interior Photographs

Stations of the Cross

Stained Glass
Historical Photographs


© 2008-2020 Rochester Churches. All photographs on this site listed under "External" or "Internal" photographs are property of Rochester Churches. Historical images are the property of their respective owners. This site is an independent venture not affiliated with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester. Rochester Churches is not for profit. The purpose of this site is to create an online catalogue of Rochester Catholic churches, past and present.