Rochester Churches Steuben County
St. Joseph


Location: Steuben County, Wayland
Address: 206 Fremont St. Map
Parish formed: 1881
Present church built: Jan. 1881
Present affiliation: Parish, part of the Holy Family Catholic Community cluster
Web site:


  • Fr. George Zurcher, May 1881-1882
  • Fr. Theodore Voss, 1882-1885
  • Fr. Joseph Fischer, 1885-1888
  • Fr. Joseph Thies, 1888-1894
  • Fr. C. Vaelin, 1894-1896
  • Fr. John Stemler (Steimer?), 1896-1903
  • Fr. Francis J. Trautlein, 1903-Sep. 6, 1908 [upon resignation, poor health]
  • Msgr. Joseph Gefell, 1908-1924
  • Fr. Herman Schafer, 1924-1928 [upon death]
  • Msgr. Arthur Florack, 1928-1930
  • Fr. William M. Heisel, 1930-1941
  • Msgr. Adelbert J. Schneider, 1941-Oct. 23, 1967 [upon death]
  • Fr. James J. Marvin, 1967-Oct. 6, 1971
  • Fr. William J. Reifer, Oct. 6, 1971-Jan. 1973 [upon death]
  • Fr. James Baker, 1973-1979 [upon death]
  • Fr. Arthur Ratigan, 1979 [Temporary administrator]
  • Fr. Donald Schwab, 1979 [Temporary administrator]
  • Paul R. Schnacky, July 1979-June 23, 1998 [upon retirement]
  • Fr. Stephen R. Kraus, June 23, 1998-June 29, 2004
  • Fr. Michael A. Schramel, June 29, 2004-June 27, 2006
  • Fr. Stephen Karani, June 27, 2006-present


Coming soon...

Exterior Photographs
Interior Photographs

Stations of the Cross

Stained Glass
Historical Photographs


© 2008-2018 Rochester Churches. All photographs on this site listed under "External" or "Internal" photographs are property of Rochester Churches. Historical images are the property of their respective owners. This site is an independent venture not affiliated with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester. Rochester Churches is not for profit. The purpose of this site is to create an online catalogue of Rochester Catholic churches, past and present.

Created by: James J. Sarkis