Rochester Churches Tompkins County
St. James the Apostle


Location: Tompkins County, Trumansburg
Address: 17 Whig St. Map
Parish formed: 1856 [mission], 1872 [parish]
Present church built: 1950
Present affiliation: Part of the Mary, Mother of Mercy parish. Staffed by the Capuchins.
Web site:


  • Fr. Michael Gleason, 1854-1856? [Pastor of St. Mary, Waterloo]
  • Administered by priests from Immaculate Conception, Ithaca..?, 1856-1870
  • Fr. James O'Connor, 1870-1872
  • Fr. Gilbert Nuonno, 1872-1877 [First resident Pastor]
  • Fr. Angelo Lugero, 1877-1881
  • Fr. Michael T. Madden, 1881-1909
  • Fr. T. J. Harrington, 1909-1920
  • Fr. E. Joseph Esser, 1920-1935
  • Fr. G. Stuart Hogan, 1935-1945
  • Fr. Leonard A. Kelly, 1945-1954
  • Fr. Francis A. Marks, 1954-1960
  • Fr. Bernard C. Hanna, 1960-Jan. 11, 1966 [upon retirement, poor health]
  • Fr. Eugene H. McFarland, Feb.? 1965-Aug. 17, 1965 [Temporary administrator, illness]
  • Fr. Lawrence W. Sansom, Jan. 11, 1966-June 25, 1970
  • Fr. Albert V. Ryan, June 25, 1970-June 25, 1980
  • Fr. Robert J. Kanka, June 25, 1980-June 28, 1994 [upon retirement]
  • Fr. John O'Hare OFM Cap., June 28, 1994-Oct. 21, 1994 [Temporary administrator], Oct. 21, 1994-June 26, 1996 [pastor; upon death]
  • Fr. Eugene O'Hara OFM Cap., June 26, 1996-Aug. 31, 2006 [transfer to Florida]
  • Fr. John Tokaz OFM Cap., Aug. 31, 2006-Aug. 2014
  • Fr. Bernard M. Maloney OFM Cap., Aug. 2014-present


Coming soon...

Exterior Photographs
Interior Photographs

Stations of the Cross

Stained Glass
Historical Photographs


© 2008-2020 Rochester Churches. All photographs on this site listed under "External" or "Internal" photographs are property of Rochester Churches. Historical images are the property of their respective owners. This site is an independent venture not affiliated with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester. Rochester Churches is not for profit. The purpose of this site is to create an online catalogue of Rochester Catholic churches, past and present.