Rochester Churches Monroe County
Church of the Assumption


Location: Monroe County, Perinton, Fairport
Address: 20 East Ave. Map
Parish formed: 1852 [mission], 1866 [parish]
Present church built: 1981
Present affiliation: Parish, sharing pastor with Church of the Resurrection
Web site:


  • Fr. Louis J. Miller, 1866-1870 [First resident pastor]
  • Fr. Patrick C. McGrath, 1870-1878
  • Fr. John L. Codyre, 1878-July 8, 1925 [upon resignation, poor health]
  • Fr. James T. Wood, July 8, 1925-1954
  • Fr. Leonard A. Kelly, 1954-June 26, 1975 [upon retirement]
  • Fr. Joseph P. Beatini, June 26, 1975-May 25, 1980 [upon death]
  • Fr. John P. Norris, June 25, 1980-June 25, 1991 [upon retirement]
  • Fr. Edward Golden, June 25, 1991-January 2001 [sabbatical]
  • Fr. Gary Tyman, January 2001 [Temporary administrator]
  • Fr. Edward L. Palumbos, 2001-June 26, 2018 [upon retirement]
  • Deacon Ronald J. Tocci, January 2007-June 2007 [Temporary administrator during sabbatical]
  • Fr. George P. Heyman, June 26, 2018-present


Coming soon...

Exterior Photographs

Original Church
Interior Photographs

Adoration Chapel

Stations of the Cross

Stained Glass
Historical Photographs


© 2008-2020 Rochester Churches. All photographs on this site listed under "External" or "Internal" photographs are property of Rochester Churches. Historical images are the property of their respective owners. This site is an independent venture not affiliated with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester. Rochester Churches is not for profit. The purpose of this site is to create an online catalogue of Rochester Catholic churches, past and present.