Rochester Churches Monroe County
St. Augustine


Location: Monroe County, Rochester SW
Address: 384 Chili Ave. Map
Parish formed: Oct. 2, 1898/December 8, 1898 [mission], Aug. 24, 1906 [parish]
Present church built: 1923
Present affiliation: Closed
Date closed: April 23, 2006
Web site: n/a


  • Served by various priests from St. Patrick Cathedral: Fr. George V. Burns, Fr. Philip Golding, Fr. Arthur Hughes, Bp. John F. O'Hern, December 8, 1898-Aug. 24, 1906
  • Fr. John H. O'Brien, Aug. 24, 1906-Jan. 5, 1945 [First resident Pastor; upon death]
  • Msgr. John F. Duffy, Feb. 1945-June 27, 1968 [upon retirement]
  • Fr. Edward J. Tolster, June 27, 1968-Nov. 23, 1972 [upon death]
  • Fr. Paul J. McCabe and Fr. Neil Miller, Jan. 1973-Late 1975
  • Fr. Paul J. McCabe and David P. Simon, Late 1975-June 28, 1978 [Co-pastorate]
  • Fr. Elmer J. McDonald, June 28, 1978-Sep. 12, 1979
  • Fr. William A. Trott, Sep. 12, 1979-June 27, 1989
  • Fr. William B. Leone, Jan. 1, 1989-June 27, 1989 [Temporary administrator, sabbatical]
  • Fr. Robert P. Ring, June 27, 1989-Dec. 31, 1991 [resigned to become Director of Priest Personnel]
  • Sr. St. Luke Hardy SSJ, Jan. 1, 1992-June 30, 1992 [Administrator]
  • Fr. Robert T. Werth, June 30, 1992-2004
  • Sr. Marie Susan Hoffman SSJ, June 2004-Sep. 12, 2005 [Temporary administrator; upon resignation]
  • Fr. Raymond H. Fleming, Sep. 12, 2005-April 23, 2006


Coming soon...

Exterior Photographs
Historical Photographs


© 2008-2020 Rochester Churches. All photographs on this site listed under "External" or "Internal" photographs are property of Rochester Churches. Historical images are the property of their respective owners. This site is an independent venture not affiliated with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester. Rochester Churches is not for profit. The purpose of this site is to create an online catalogue of Rochester Catholic churches, past and present.