Rochester Churches Monroe County
Holy Rosary


Location: Monroe County, Rochester NW
Address: 414 Lexington Ave. Map
Parish formed: 1888 [mission], July 1896 [parish]
Present church built: 1916
Present affiliation: Closed
Date closed: Mar. 9, 2008
Web site: n/a


  • Fr. James P. Kiernan, 1889-1896
  • Fr. John G. Van Ness, July 1896-Jan. 27, 1909 [First resident Pastor; upon death]
  • Fr. Edward J. Dwyer, June 1908-Aug. 1908 [Tempoarary administrator, sabbatical]
  • Fr. James H. Day, 1909-Jan. 30, 1914 [upon death]
  • Msgr. Arthur Hughes, Feb. 25, 1913-Mar. 13, 1932 [upon death]
  • Fr. William J. Naughton, Mar. 1932-June 17, 1932 [Temporary administrator]
  • Bp. Walter A. Foery, June 17, 1932-Aug. 31, 1937 [upon being named Bishop of Syracuse]
  • Msgr. Charles F. Shay, Sep. 1937-Oct. 1965
  • Bp. John E. McCafferty, Oct. 1965-1968 [upon becoming auxiliary bishop]
  • Fr. Robert A. Meng, Sep. 16, 1968-June 29, 1993 [upon retirement]
  • Fr. Lawrence V. Murphy, June 29, 1993-June 26, 2001 [upon retirement]
  • Fr. Gary Tyman, June 26, 2001-2005
  • Fr. John Mulligan, 2005-Mar. 9, 2008


Coming soon...

Exterior Photographs
Interior Photographs

Stained Glass
Historical Photographs

Artwork and furnishings from auction

Stations of the cross


© 2008-2020 Rochester Churches. All photographs on this site listed under "External" or "Internal" photographs are property of Rochester Churches. Historical images are the property of their respective owners. This site is an independent venture not affiliated with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester. Rochester Churches is not for profit. The purpose of this site is to create an online catalogue of Rochester Catholic churches, past and present.