Rochester Churches Monroe County
Holy Apostles


Location: Monroe County, Rochester NW
Address: 530 Lyell Ave. Map
Parish formed: May 1, 1884
Present church built: Mar. 20, 1897 [dedicated]
Present affiliation: Parish
Web site:


  • Fr. Timothy C. Murphy, May 1, 1884-1900
  • Fr. James A. Hickey, 1900-1910
  • ..
  • Fr. John F. Nelligan, <1919-1939 [upon death]
  • Fr. Philip E. Golding, 1931-Feb. 1941 [upon death]
  • Fr. George V. Predmore, 1941-June 3, 1961 [upon death]
  • Msgr. J. Emmett Murphy, June 27, 1961-June 28, 1983 [upon retirement]
  • Fr. Lawrence A. Gross, June 28, 1983-June 30, 1992
  • Fr. John V. Forni, June 30, 1992-Dec. 30, 1992 [Temporary administrator]
  • Fr. David W. Mura, Jan. 5, 1993-May 2, 1995 [upon death]
  • James Bloomfield (and Fr. George Heyman?), May 3, 1995-June 25, 1996? [Temporary administrator]
  • Fr. Paul J. Tomasso, June 25, 1996-Dec. 30, 2008
  • Fr. Anthony Mugavero, Dec. 30, 2008-present


Coming soon...

Exterior Photographs
Interior Photographs

Crests on the rafters

Icons of the Apostles

Stations of the Cross

Stained Glass
Historical Photographs


© 2008-2020 Rochester Churches. All photographs on this site listed under "External" or "Internal" photographs are property of Rochester Churches. Historical images are the property of their respective owners. This site is an independent venture not affiliated with the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester. Rochester Churches is not for profit. The purpose of this site is to create an online catalogue of Rochester Catholic churches, past and present.